A Round of Words in 80 Days!

ROW80Logocopy

I discovered about this challenge a few days ago and decided to give it a try. So, here it goes, without any actual planning or preparation, my goals for the next 80 days!

  • The Goal: Write 100k of fiction.
    • This means 25k in october, 50k in november and 25k in december.
    • The intention is to write 1k every day during october and december, with 5 days off. And a mad dash for NaNo because I honestly find it tons of fun.
  • The Projects:
    • Finish the second draft of A Tale of Two Girls – I’m not counting words here, it’s revision and it’s already half way done.
    • Write anthology submission – 15k
    • Write Unexpected Change – 50k (This is my NaNo novel. I’m not focusing in the 50k goal but in getting to the end and I suspect it might end up being more than 50k actually)
    • Rough draft for 3 short stories (small town series) – each one from 10k to 15k
  • Some extras:
    • Organize my dump file, look at half written ideas to see if it’s worth keep going.
    • Read 5 books.

I’m not sure how doable all this is in that time frame actually. I’m not used to keep track of what gets done and when and I might be completely off here, but I want to give the challenge a try anyway.

5 thoughts on “A Round of Words in 80 Days!

  1. Allison,
    Good start on goals. I think it sometimes takes a round or two to know what’s realistic. Can’t wait for NaNo. I wish October would just hurry up already….looking forward to following along with you and good luck!

    • Hi Becca!
      I can’t wait either! It is the one time of the year when I’m not the only one writing in my group of friends, it’s a lot of fun for me. And goals are hard! I tend to overestimate how much I can do and end up with a snowball of stuff to get done in the last few days of every month. I’m hoping that weekly check-ins will help with that, pacing is my biggest problem. Good luck for you too!

Leave a comment